Who Do You Want To Be — A Nearly Perfect Human

So first off will own up that I don’t wish to be a perfect human. Certainly it is impossible and even if it were possible, can you imagine the difficulty of being perfect in an imperfect world. Further more if you were perfect, how insanely bored would you be?! But that is enough of that kind of fun.

I have been thinking for the past twelve months quite seriously on who I would like to be. I don’t mean that I wish I wasn’t me, or what kind of profession should I take, or where do I see my self in 5 or 10 years but rather; what is the ideal me? and what is the ideal person?

As established there is no definitive ideal person although many myths and stories direct towards them. There are no right answers to this question either although there are certainly wrong ones. It is a question heavily loaded with value judgements and ambiguities and grey areas. I can confidently sum it up in to one short sentence however.
“I want to be a good person”.”But!” I hear you say, “what on earth is a good person? and while you are at it what is good? and if you could solve the worlds energy crisis while you are at it”.
So we shall do some unpacking of the Good Person which will be the subject of further thoughts and writings.

So a Good Person according to me;
Truthful
Virtuous
Full of Integrity
Other

Be Truthful, it is important to tell the truth and when the truth isn’t apparent at least try not to lie. Speak your truth quietly and clearly and listen to others for they too have their stories.

Be Virtuous, learn of history and writings of great authors and poets their contexts, their worries and triumphs. Learn of the use of words and the importance of thinking deeply and taking care and time to come to conclusions. Work hard in your endeavors, enduring challenges and difficulties and build character for it is possibly the greatest defense against the hardships of life.

Be Full of Integrity, standing for the principles you wish to embody. Stand up honorably for the things you believe in and the eternal quest to better yourself. Use your words carefully to establish your position and listen carefully for those who criticize you because that is a great way to solidify your foundations  and they will help you to strengthen your argument.

I think that is a person I would like to be. Won’t be easy. But I think that is a good way to go about living a meaningful and purposeful life and contribute in a meaningful way to the world around me. Not necessarily as a blogger, philosopher, academic, professional or casual worker, but wherever you happen to be.

You will notice I did not address the Other line. That is quite intentional and allow me to give it purpose here. The other is for that which I don’t know. I am not a repository of all wisdom or even much and so no doubt you, dear reader may be able to offer something that is so profound as to affect the way I see the world and who I wish to be. So you are welcome to debate the validity of my claims, of their merits and offer your own. Have at it!

One thought on “Who Do You Want To Be — A Nearly Perfect Human

  1. Nice James! thoughtful

    Regards

    Neil Roberts

    0401 026 528

    From: JapsPlace Online Reply-To: JapsPlace Online Date: Monday, 5 December 2016 at 5:23 pm To: Subject: [New post] Who Do You Want To Be — A Nearly Perfect Human

    japsplace posted: “So first off will own up that I don’t wish to be a perfect human. Certainly it is impossible and even if it were possible, can you imagine the difficulty of being perfect in an imperfect world. Further more if you were perfect, how insanely bored would yo”

    Like

Leave a Reply

